Innocence.

My sweet baby. I love these moments, when he is fast asleep in my arms, so precious and innocent. This week has been rough. I don’t want to go into too many details yet, but let’s just say that parenting a teenager is harder than you think. And my little sister isn’t even my own child. We had her living with us for the past 4 months, trying to give her a good, happy home. But that’s not always enough. So, the week was difficult. And it was for all of us.

Every age range must have its own challenges. Newborn Atticus just cried nonstop, and I didn’t ever have time to eat or shower. Infant Atticus grew steadily more content (thank you, Zantac), and rapidly more independent. It was a whirlwind one day when I realized he was playing with his toys and not crying for my attention. And toddler Atticus has been a rollercoaster so far. Tantrums and frustration for sure, but there’s also a lot of love in there, too. He just started hugging me, and he likes snuggling up to mama and dada to watch TV for a little bit when he’s tired.

But nothing will probably be as hard as those teenage years. I hope I have it more figured out by then. And I hope I didn’t fail my little sister.

5 thoughts on “Innocence.

  1. I’m sure it must be difficult to help guide a teenager whom you haven’t raised or really have the authority to tell what to do (or do you?) Our daughter is almost 13 years old and hormones play a huge roll in how she feels about life in general. 🙄

    • The authority was hard. She listened the first month or so, then there came the attitude and the rebelling and the talking back. My little sister has always been a handful, but I had no idea what I was taking on when I agreed to have her come live in our home. Sheesh. Teenagers are TOUGH. You’re a trooper!

      • I think teenagers are espeically hard when they’ve gone through something with their parents (where the parents were in the wrong). That was my experience…my dad was a gambler -made lots of mistakes- and I rebelled bigtime. 😦

  2. Wow. That’s really loving of you to open your home to your sis when you have so much going on. I bet one day she will remember you reaching out to her even if she’s pushing you away now.

Leave a Reply

